An office in Enrollment Management
  • Home
  • Fall 2017 Academic Calendar (by Category)

Fall 2017 Academic Calendar (by Category)

Category Date Descriptor
Academic Calendar Monday, August 21, 2017 First day of classes
Academic Calendar Monday, September 4, 2017 Labor Day Holiday - No classes
Academic Calendar Monday, September 18, 2017 Census Day - 20th Day of classes
Academic Calendar Tuesday, September 19, 2017 Start Credit/No Credit *
Academic Calendar Monday, October 2, 2017 Deadline Credit/No Credit *
Academic Calendar Saturday, October 14, 2017 First Day of Fall Break
Academic Calendar Tuesday, October 17, 2017 Last Day of Fall Break
Academic Calendar Wednesday, November 22, 2017 Thanksgiving Break First Day
Academic Calendar Sunday, November 26, 2017 Thanksgiving Break Last Day
Academic Calendar Thursday, December 7, 2017 Last day of classes
Academic Calendar Friday, December 8, 2017 Stop Day
Academic Calendar Monday, December 11, 2017 First day of Finals
Academic Calendar Friday, December 15, 2017 Last day of Finals
Academic Calendar Friday, December 22, 2017 Grade submission deadline -- 11:59 p.m. (excludes Law)
Academic Calendar Friday, January 5, 2018 Law grade submission deadline -- 11:59 p.m.
Add/Drop Friday, August 25, 2017 Last day to add and change sections on-line *
Add/Drop Friday, August 25, 2017 Last day to add/change sections without written permission *
Add/Drop Monday, August 28, 2017 Add/change of section with written permission begins (off-line) *
Add/Drop Monday, September 11, 2017 First Period Drop ends *
Add/Drop Monday, September 11, 2017 Last day to withdraw/drop without a "W" *
Add/Drop Tuesday, September 12, 2017 Second Period Drop begins *
Add/Drop Monday, September 18, 2017 Last day to add or swap a class *
Add/Drop Wednesday, November 15, 2017 Last day to withdraw from a class or the University (full semester classes, excluding Law)
Add/Drop Wednesday, November 15, 2017 Second Period Drop Ends *
Continuing Student Enrollment Thursday, March 2, 2017 Advising begins
Continuing Student Enrollment Thursday, March 2, 2017 Email notification of enrollment appointment time
Continuing Student Enrollment Thursday, March 2, 2017 Enrollment appointment times posted to Student Self-Service
Continuing Student Enrollment Thursday, March 2, 2017 Timetable/Schedule of Classes published to the web
Continuing Student Enrollment Friday, March 31, 2017 Continuing Student Enrollment begins
Continuing Student Enrollment Friday, March 31, 2017 Enrollment Appointments begin
Continuing Student Enrollment Sunday, August 20, 2017 Continuing Student Enrollment ends (11:59 p.m.) -- all careers
Graduation Wednesday, March 1, 2017 Enroll & Pay On-line Application for Graduation available Law, Graduate and Undergraduate students
Graduation Wednesday, November 1, 2017 Law Application for Graduation deadline
Graduation Wednesday, November 1, 2017 Undergraduate Application for Graduation deadline
Graduation Wednesday, November 29, 2017 Law Grade Roster creation
Graduation Thursday, December 7, 2017 Grade Roster creation (excludes Law)
Graduation Friday, December 15, 2017 Graduate Application for Graduation deadline
Graduation Friday, January 12, 2018 Course Completion Deadline
Graduation Friday, January 12, 2018 Official Degree list due
Graduation Monday, January 22, 2018 Degrees post to transcripts
Graduation Monday, February 5, 2018 Diplomas available
Late Enrollment Monday, August 21, 2017 $150 late enrollment fee begins *
Late Enrollment Monday, August 21, 2017 First day of Late Enrollment *
Late Enrollment Friday, August 25, 2017 Last day to enroll online *
Late Enrollment Monday, August 28, 2017 Petition late enrollment begins (off-line), form available at student's school *
Late Enrollment Monday, September 11, 2017 Last day to request a Petition to Late Enroll form (non TBA, full semester classes)
Late Enrollment Monday, September 18, 2017 Last day petition late enrollment (non TBA, full semester classes)
New Student Enrollment Friday, April 7, 2017 Transfer Orientation and Enrollment (TOE)
New Student Enrollment Saturday, April 8, 2017 Transfer Orientation and Enrollment (TOE)
New Student Enrollment Wednesday, April 26, 2017 GRDL, UGDK, LAW & GRDK New Student Enrollment begins
New Student Enrollment Monday, August 14, 2017 Transfer Orientation and Enrollment
New Student Enrollment Tuesday, August 15, 2017 Freshman Orientation and Enrollment
New Student Enrollment Wednesday, August 16, 2017 Freshman Orientation and Enrollment
New Student Enrollment Thursday, August 17, 2017 Enrollment for new non-degree seeking students (UGDL career), community members and special student populations
New Student Enrollment Thursday, August 17, 2017 Open enrollment for students who have not attended orientation. See the Office of First Year Experience  for details.
New Student Enrollment Sunday, August 20, 2017 New Student Enrollment ends (11:59 p.m.)
Post Semester Saturday, December 23, 2017 Collection of non-posted grades begins for all careers
Post Semester Saturday, December 23, 2017 Grade roster entry access shut off (excludes Law)
Post Semester Friday, January 5, 2018 Law grade roster entry access shut off
Refunds and Adjustments Wednesday, March 1, 2017 First day to submit Fee Adjustment Forms
Refunds and Adjustments Wednesday, June 7, 2017 First day to submit residency application
Refunds and Adjustments Friday, August 25, 2017 Last day 100% refund *
Refunds and Adjustments Saturday, August 26, 2017 First day 50% refund *
Refunds and Adjustments Monday, September 18, 2017 Last day 50% refund *
Refunds and Adjustments Tuesday, September 19, 2017 0% refund begins *
Refunds and Adjustments Wednesday, September 20, 2017 Tuition Adjustment & Residency Application deadlines
*-Information applies to full semester courses.  Some deadlines may exclude certain schools and colleges.

KU Academic Calendar
University Registrar Updates
Enrollment

Enroll & Pay

Enroll & Pay is the University of Kansas' online campus solution for enrollment, financial and other services.


Schedule of Classes

The Online Schedule of Classes

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
—ALA
23rd nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets," Military Times
KU Today